Chakras – Energy Wheels

To understand better this ancient system, firstly we need to accept that everything is energy, our bodies are made of energy. Every molecule, tissue, blood cell, our internal organs, DNK cells, everything that exists within and around us is just a form of energy. Energy healing has been used for a very long time including crystal healing, quantum healing, reiki, chakras healing, acupuncture, and many other forms.

Everything is energy.

Once we accept that we are made of energy we can understand better body energy centers called chakras. Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning “circle” or “wheel” and chakras interpret sensory information from the world around us. This ancient system was passed through oral tradition and reached the West at the beginning of the 20th century.

In this photo, you can see 6 of 7 major chakras. The 7th chakra is outside the body, above the head.

According to Sri Amit Ray, human bodies have 114 chakras in total. Of these 114 chakras, 7 are major, 21 minor, and 86 of them are micro chakras. When the chakras are imbalanced these imbalances start affecting our health in different ways – mental, physical, spiritual, emotional and we tend to get sick.

Chakras in the human body are like a spinning disk or wheels of energy that run through the spine. The chakras pull the prana from the cosmos and then move it up to the next chakra. In chakra philosophy, the whole universe is created by two universal forces called Shiva and Shakti. Shakti represents the Universe and Shiva the state of supreme consciousness.

Chakras are often linked to nerve centers, glands, and major organs in the body, and each of the seven chakras is said to correlate with different abilities, expressions, and types of health and psychological states of the mind.

The major 7 chakras are called:

Muladhara (Root Chakra) – located at the base of the spine – red colour

Svadhishthana (Sacral Chakra) – located just below the navel – orange colour

Manipura (Solar Plexsus Chakra) – located in the stomach area – bright yellow colour

Anahata (Heart Chakra) – located in the center of the chest – green colour

Vishuddha (Throat Chakra) – located at he base of the throat – blue colour

Ajna (Third Eye Chakra) – located in the forehead, between the eyes – indigo colour

Sahasrara (Crown Chakra) – located outside the physical body, at the top of the head – violet colour

In the next articles I will be writing about each of them.


You Might Also Like